The Welsh Wakeboard Open – The Results!

International Pro Riders hit the water at Glasfryn Parc for 4* Event!

Glasfryn Wakeparc hosted the first ever International Water Ski and Wakeboard (IWWF) 4* World Tour Stop in Great Britain on 8th – 10th July 2016.

The competition was the first of its kind and proved to be a huge success with 31 entries from all over Europe.

Ariano Blanik from Germany was the star of the day and came first in the Open Men category. He was awarded a huge 600 World Ranking Point along with £460 and a very unique Welsh Slate Medal which was crafted locally at Inigo Jones, Penygroes.

The star of the competition didn’t get off to the best of starts after falling in his first run, but soon proved himself to the judges with an outstanding performance on his second run nailing a showstopping Peat Rose 540 and a collaboration of amazing rail hits which then put him a step above the rest.

Julia Rick from Germany took the first place ranking in the Ladies Open category and impressed the judges with her performance on the water with a flawless display of airtricks and techniques on the metal pipe incline, transfer box, two kickers and shot top.  .

Following the Welsh Wakeboard Open the Grassroots Tour gave a chance for wakeboarders of all abilities to display their talent on the water, there was a combination of first time wakeboarders to seasoned pros which gave the competition a great scope of different styles and tricks. The wakeboarders that came out on top were Milo Mccafferty from the Netherlands in the mens group and Ruta Buracaitf from Ireland in the ladies group. The weekend finished off with a Big Air competition, and Glasfryn Parcs very own Alfie Lofthouse took the prize for getting the highest air trick off the kicker almost getting to the height of the cable pulling him.

For members of the local community, there is a chance to sign up for a introductory Wakeboarding lesson at half price with one of our professional coaches over the Summer period – the perfect opportunity to get involved for next years competition!

For the full list of the results visit